The “Mr. Sensational” Gino Vega Podcast, Episode 5 – My Life With Music Part 3: Thrash Metal, Rockers vs. Rappers, and Faith No More

MSGV Ep. 5

HEY EVERYBODY, it is I, “Mr. Sensational” Gino Vega, back with Episode 5 of the “Mr. Sensational” Gino Vega Podcast.

Episode 5 is available here.

As always, we’re coming to you by way of the I See Robots Radio Network. Visit the Network at iseerobots.com, then hop over to supportthereport.com, where for as little as $1 a month you can help us do our thing.

On this episode I talk about a recent All Pro Wrestling show I attended in Daly City, CA, where I saw the likes of Cody Rhodes, Zack Sabre Jr., and Pentagon Jr.

Then I return to my look back at the music I was a fan of growing up. This time around it’s all about thrash metal, the war between “rockers” and “rappers” at my junior high school, and my discovery of the band Faith No More (which eventually led to my interest in punk rock music, the next and final chapter on Episode 6).

I totally flaked on show notes for Episode 4, but I’m back on the ball here for our 5th installment.

Episode 5 Show Notes –

Unfortunately there isn’t really a music video or anything to go with Roddy Piper’s rendition of “For Everybody,” so here’s a classic Piper promo from San Francisco’s legendary Cow Palace. TROY to the GOAT. Hero of Heroes, here at the MSGV Podcast.

 

The great Pentagon Jr! (or whatever he’s currently calling himself due to trademark logistics)

1bfbfe_475c6013db4449d4874b98d9d4b3baf4.gif

Pentagon Jr. and Zack Sabre Jr. selling some tees.

IMG_0297

Gerry and Zack Sabre Jr.

IMG_0295.jpg

APW “We Out Here” was “too sweet.” Can’t wait to go back for their Cow Palace show in May.

IMG_0309

Cody Rhodes vs. Pentagon Jr. in the main event.

 

This is a shirt I remember fools wearing when I was in 6th grade.

5bfe5df3faaa24a6779d05a539d8cccb

Thinking back, the fact that Herbert Slater Junior High School (now Middle School)’s mascots were “The Spartans” makes an awful lot of sense. WELCOME TO HELL!

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

TROY Columbia House.

columbiahouse.jpg

My imaginal landscape at around age 12-13.

Wiki-background.jpg

This rough and real performance would go on to influence me for the rest of my life.

 

You can only get their demo tape at the Last Record Store!

Leave a Reply

